Environmentally responsible airports in Asia-Pacific honoured for carbon management

Environmental Climate solutions

Hong Kong - Five Asia-Pacific airports were honored in Bali, Indonesia last week as they were presented with Airport Carbon Accreditation Certificates at the ACI Asia-Pacific Small and Emerging Airports Seminar.

These 5 airports accredited at Level 1, Mapping under the Airport Carbon Accreditation Programme were:

  • Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, Indonesia
  • Chiang Mai International Airport, Thailand
  • Don Mueang International Airport, Thailand
  • Hat Yai International Airport, Thailand
  • Mae Fah Luang Chiang Rai International Airport, Thailand

“I wish to congratulate the airport operators of the 5 newly accredited airports, PT (Persero) Angkasa Pura II and Airports of Thailand for their efforts in carbon management and commitment to operating their airports in an environmental sustainable manner.” said Mrs. Patti Chau, Regional Director of ACI Asia-Pacific.

“Airport Carbon Accreditation was extended to the Asia-Pacific region of ACI in November 2011 from ACI Europe. The programme has really engaged and motivated airports across our region and in just three years, we already have 21 airports accredited. As well as welcoming new airports into the programme, we look forward to the witnessing accredited airports move up through the levels of the programme. Together we will create a low carbon airport industry.”

Airport Carbon Accreditation was first launched by ACI Europe in 2009 and later extended to Asia-Pacific, Africa and just last month, North America. Airport Carbon Accreditation is institutionally-endorsed by ECAC (European Civil Aviation Conference) and Eurocontrol (European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation) and is overseen by an independent Advisory Board including representatives of the European Commission, ECAC, Eurocontrol, ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organisation), UNEP (United Nations Environmental Programme) and Manchester Metropolitan University.

The programme now comprises 109 airports currently certified at one of the 4 available levels of certification (‘Mapping’, ‘Reduction’, ‘Optimisation’ and ‘Neutrality’), including some of the best-known and renowned airport brands in the world. In Europe, 86 airports are accredited, of which 17 are carbon neutral, 21 in the Asia-Pacific region of ACI as well as 1 airport each from ACI Africa and ACI North America region.

The 21 Asia-Pacific airports currently certified by the programme are as follows:

Level 3, Optimisation:

  • Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong 
  • Incheon Airport, Republic of Korea
  • Indira Gandhi International Airport, India
  • Kempegowda International Airport, India
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Airport, India

Level 2, Reduction:

  • Adelaide Airport, Australia
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, India
  • Kaohsiung International Airport, Chinese Taipei 
  • Macau International Airport, Macau 
  • Parafield Airport, Australia
  • Sunshine Coast Airport, Australia
  • Suvarnabumi Airport, Thailand

Level 1, Mapping:

  • Abu Dhabi International Airport, United Arab Emirates
  • Chiang Mai International Airport, Thailand
  • Don Mewing International Airport, Thailand
  • Hat Yat International Airport, Thailand
  • Mae Fah Luang Chiang Rai International Airport, Thailand
  • Queen Alia International Airport, Jordan
  • Sharjah International Airport, United Arab Emirates
  • Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, Indonesia
  • Sydney Airport, Australia

These airports welcome over 416 million passengers in 2013, representing 17.8% of the total passenger traffic in the region.

More information about Airport Carbon Accreditation,  and follow @AirportCO2 on Twitter.